We Want Walker

DeWayne Walker for UCLA head coach.

Walker to Washington? To UCLA? To Washington? to UCLA?

Posted by wewantwalker on January 2, 2008

Lot of things going around, especially that sportingnews report that “confirmed” that walker is going.

I’m hearing a lot of chatter, but I think right now I’m willing to come out and say that the deal is practically sealed. I’m pretty sure Walker is going to end up staying. Thank God.

I could be wrong, but I really like what I’m hearing. We’ll see. God, I hope he stays.

6 Responses to “Walker to Washington? To UCLA? To Washington? to UCLA?”

  1. bpbruin said

    Hi www,

    This is from the Daily News:

    “The two are scheduled to meet today, but in preliminary talks Neuheisel wouldn’t guarantee Walker could retain his assistants, according to a source close to Walker.”

    Has this been the main sticking point to Walker staying? Walker and some of the asst coaches are supposed to meet with Neuheisel tomorrow. Hopefully, they can resolve this. I hope Walker can keep his assistants.

    I hope you’re right, www. You seem to imply you’ve got a little inside info.

    I’d like to commend you for all the work you’ve done with this site. To get it up and running so quick with so much content is quite an accomplishment. You certainly made a big difference in the Bruin blogosphere. Look forward to your new site.

  2. magicalbruin75 said

    Ok what are some of the details re: staying or going.I have been hearing for a couple of days now that he is all,but gone.Hearing and reading so much on this I do not know fact from fiction.Certainly on the internet with its anonimity,anyone with a computer can spread anything like wildfire. A rundown of “reliable” facts as they stand would be appreciated.I know, or believe I do,that RN and DW are meeting today.What are the issues if this is still viable of DW staying? Money,the other defensive coaches,length of contract.What is the time frame for an announcement? I am and have been a big DW fan,but not at the expense of the program. I am a UCLA BRUIN first.Rick has alot to do so if DW is gone let us wish DW luck and move on. If DW is on board he can immediately focus on working with Rick. The focus becomes UCLA and not DW.
    Ira

  3. hey bpbruin,

    I’m not sure how reliable my info is, it’s at least third hand but i’ve heard it a few times.

    The word is that RN wants to get Ken Norton, but Ken Norton and a few members of the current staff (I don’t think Walker directly) had a spat over the recruiting of Brian Price.

    I’ll tell you this, if Norton comes on, it’s a good bet that not only will Walker leave, but so might Brian Price.

    I’m suprised things took this long to play out.

    I do think RN isn’t an idiot or has a gigantic ego. He will do what it take to keep DW. He understands that there needs to be some sort of stability here and that the recruits have strong relationships with running backs coach Babers, WR coach Scott, and Walker.

    Hopefully we’ll know soon. Thanks for the flattering comments on the site and your support, I hope you enjoy the site when it begins in earnest. As you might have guessed, I really want to change things in the Bruin Blogosphere.

  4. bpbruin said

    Hi www,

    Thanks for the info.

    I think the Brian Price spat was with Eric Scott (the Crenshaw connection), as seen in this article from the Daily Bruin:

    http://www.dailybruin.ucla.edu/archives/id/40376/

    Here’s a quote:

    “Knowing Price was heavily favoring UCLA, Norton began to criticize the same Bruins’ program that he had played for from 1984-1987. Sitting in for Price’s father, who couldn’t make it, Scott defended his player and his school. The former UCLA receiver refused to let Norton and Carroll intimidate Price.

    Carroll balked at Price’s refusal to visit USC and made the fatal mistake of questioning the young player’s character, Price told the Los Angeles Daily News recently.

    That didn’t go over so well with Price’s mother, who promptly showed them the door.”

    Does RN want Norton as LB coach? Will he get an additional title like assistant DC? Why would KN leave USC to take an equivalent position at UCLA unless he was promised more?

    What does KN bring anyway? Yeah, he’s a great recruiter, but DW won Pac-10 Recruiter of the Year last year. SC fans don’t hold his coaching abilities in high regard. I see little upside to bringing him in, and a whole lot of downside with possible chemistry problems.

  5. Exactly, bpbruin. Walker wasn’t directly involved with that spat. However, Walker directly recruited brian price and I would imagine coach scott has a close relationship with coach Walker. Out of a sense of loyalty, Walker might not want to stay if KN is brought on (neither would Scott, I imagine)

    I’m very very impressed so far with Coach Neuheisel’s swagger. He’s not backing down. He wants to go big. He can go out and get an impressive coordinator with experience if he wants to and I think he’ll do just that if he wants to . I’ve heard Ken Norton coach first hand and to me he’s not much more than a rah-rah guy. I can’t see him scheming. I think he would be a disaster as our DC. He would come on as a LB coach maybe, but I can’t see him doing any thing more. RN might want to have control over the defense but he’s not an idiot. He will compromise and get DeWayne in the end.

    Walker is not going to sell out coach bullough, the current linebackers coach. Walker wants free reign over the defensive hires and, quite frankly, he deserves this. Dump Dorrell cited that UCLA was 70th something against the pass which shows how much thinking that guy really does. I forgot who brought it up but notre dame was among the best in pass defense. why? because everybody ran on them. UCLA stopped the run very well this year again, forcing teams to go to the air. I wrote a post on pass efficiency defense and showed that UCLA was in the top 25. Also third down conversion rate, which is by and large passing plays, was phenomenal with UCLA in the top 3 (maybe 1st after the bowl game, I’d have to check that.) Walker has down so much, and these aren’t even HIS RECRUITS. I have to post something defending him today. I can’t believe people are still criticizing him.

    UCLA may very well promise more dough. RN has quickly changed the climate at UCLA. The donors are excited and the budgets have already quickly been expanded for assistant coaches. If RN is talking about bringing Chow, you’re talking about bringing in what would be one of the highest paid offensive coordinators in college football (at least $500,000 I would imagine.)

  6. […] on Walker to Washington? To UCLA? To Washington? to UCLA?bpbruin on Walker to Washington? To UCLA? To Washington? to UCLA?Walker is AWESOME on Neuheuisel impresses in CBS interviewsdUCLA on UpdateSilverlake Bruin on […]

Leave a comment