We Want Walker

DeWayne Walker for UCLA head coach.

Walker NOT out of the running?

Posted by wewantwalker on December 28, 2007

While I love AM570, they are not a reliable news source. Like all news radio their job is to get listeners to listen and since its all on the radio, they won’t get quite as reamed if it was the written word. I have heard AM570 say so many crazy things over the years. After a while, you learn to take what they say with a grain of salt.

I also thought it was suspicous because, as a matter of common sense, UCLA will not tell Walker he is out of the running until they have another head coach in hand. It would be a slap in the face to say “Hey, we’re not sure who we are going to bring on, but DANG son it’s not going to be you.” Also, as a matter of common sense, if they did this it wouldn’t be suprising to see that, by the time they had a head coach picked out and they went to ask walker if he’d stay on, Walker would have already signed a deal with another team. That was a horrible run-on sentence but I’m too lazy to fix it right now. Long day.

Anyway, for all the stuff being thrown around about Dohn, Dohn’s blog is the best source of news. And I’m not just saying that because he linked to me (he wasn’t the only paper to link to me btw, The Seattle Times did too).  I’ve defended Dohn on this blog before that and I’ve always linked to his stories for a reason. Not only does he report stuff before everyone else, generally, but he is the top UCLA reporter because of his reporting philosophy:

All I can do is speak for myself and my philosophy. I treat my blog like an extension of a newspaper story. I do not run items without multiple sources confirming the story. I never did, and never will, deal with rumor in a newspaper story I write, or a blog entry I make. I will get beaten on a story before I will write something I did not confirm to be accurate. That is my approach. It always has been, and always will be.

That being said, Dohn is reporting that Walker is not out of the running.

Just so you know, in talking to my various sources, DeWayne Walker has not been told he is out of the running.

I’m going to trust Dohn on that one. While he’s not perfect, his reputation is built on the veracity of what he reports, not sensationalism like some radio stations or, *AHEM*, blogs.

😉

One Response to “Walker NOT out of the running?”

  1. Peter said

    More importantly, Dohn never has a conflict of interest and never promotes one of the subjects of his reports.

    Yes, I am joking.

Leave a Reply

 
