We Want Walker

DeWayne Walker for UCLA head coach.

Up with WestWoodBob/NOW IS THE TIME TO ACT

Posted by wewantwalker on December 26, 2007

Dohn is reporting that Walker had his interview today with the Chancellor. I would say I hope it went well, but knowing Walker I’m sure the Chancellor came away very very impressed.

I’ve also heard from several places that Golden has dropped out, leaving Walker and Neuheisel as the main candidates.

Folks, your voice is of paramount importance right now. YOU can help bring a fantastic coach to Westwood. YOU can help change the landscape of the Pac-10. Let’s bring Walker to Westwood.

The following is a post from the BRO Premium Board that I thought was awesome. WestWoodBob has graciously given us permission to repost this so a big thanks to him.

I’M DONE WITH THE SOFT, SIEVE DEFENSE OF THE KERR ERA

I’m DONE with that horror show. I’m done with watching UCLA’s defense get run through like water drains from my pasta colander.

I’m DONE with thinking about these stats of the Larry Kerr defense era:

2004

UCLA 106 in total defense, allowing 433 yards per game

2005

UCLA 113 in total defense, allowing 468 yards per game

UCLA 66 in stopping 3rd down conversions (62% stops)

I’m DONE with hearing UCLA defenses plays soft and don’t like to hit. Or simply don’t like to play defense. Or are a soft bunch of surfers.

I’M UP WITH THE STYLE, SCHEMES AND TOUGHNESS OF WALKER’S DEFENSE

2006

UCLA 35 in total defense, allowing 314 yards per game

UCLA 5 in stopping 3rd down conversions (72% stops)

2007

UCLA 30 in total defense, allowing 343 yards per game

UCLA 6 in stopping 3rd down conversions (71% stops) despite having the

third highest attempts in the country at doing so due to our pathetic

offense

I’m UP with seeing tough, attacking UCLA defenses that fly to the ball like I’ve seen the last two years and don’t know what the word passive means. I don’t want to hold my hand over my eyes every time the other team got the ball like I did during the Kerr era.

I’m UP with cheering DEFENSE to resonate LOUD and OFTEN in the Rose Bowl…..I don’t even care if it’s Geoff Strand leading it. And I’ll be the first up SHOUTING IT.

OUR HOUSE, THE ROSE BOWL, SHOULD BE THE HOUSE OF PAIN

I’m UP for hearing the Rose Bowl known as the House of Pain to opposing teams.

I’m UP for wanting to see opposing teams KNOW that when they play UCLA they have to earn every yard they get. That UCLA’s defense strikes fear into them.

I’m UP to want to continue to see the obvious pride that DeWayne Walker has instilled on the defensive side of the ball in just two years.

I’m UP for wanting to see what Walker can do with his own recruits as they develop into juniors and seniors.

I’m UP for wanting to see the toughness, schemes and adjustments Walker brings and I’m UP for wanting to see him do it with the better recruits he’s got flocking to UCLA who want to play for him.

Even if you don’t believe in the stats above, you had to have seen it on the field. You saw it in the second half vs. BYU.

The choice is obvious to me if it’s between Walker and Rick Neuheisel.

I’m UP for a coach who is already at the pulse of college football AND this UCLA team.

I’m UP for a coach who obviously the team and most importantly RECRUITS WANT to play for. With Walker there is no doubt.

I’m up for wanting to see a well-coached defense to keep us in every game so even if the offense is AVERAGE we’ll win more games and we have Forbath for the next THREE YEARS.

If DG is deciding between Rick Neuheisel and DeWayne Walker, I’m UP for DeWayne Walker for our next head coach.

Werd, WestWood Bob. Werd.

Leave a Reply

 
