We Want Walker

DeWayne Walker for UCLA head coach.

Wallace L. Walker Speaks

Posted by wewantwalker on December 23, 2007

Editor’s Note: Wow. We are honored to have your take, Mr. Walker. We agree completely: We hope UCLA and Guerrero will have the character to do the right thing as well. And I apologize on behalf of some bruin fans who have defamed DeWayne. I just want to make clear that they represent a minority of UCLA fans. UCLA fans, by and large, are respectful, logical, and have integrity. 

 

Integrity. Don’t forget that word, folks. 

I am pleased to see your site. I only discovered it today. Your point about DeWayne being more loyal to UCLA than Neuheisel has a ring of truth to it. I am DeWayne’s brother. I am the oldest child in our family, he is the youngest. I became a UCLA student when DeWayne was six years old.(UCLA Law class 1970). In addition to me, his nephew, my son, is an MFA film school graduate of UCLA, I believe 1997. We have a second cousin who is a 2006 UCLA graduate, my daughter in law is a UCLA graduate. I have been a UCLA fan since the age of nine. Jackie Robinson was my first hero. The Walker family from whence DeWayne comes, has been, always, a UCLA family. DeWayne’s son did not commit to UCLA solely because his father works there. As for DeWayne’s abilities as a coach consider this. In 1981 my family moved to Pennsylvania. My son attended Lower Merion High School (before Kobe) and he had a stellar career there, but, he played tight and defensive ends. He would not play either position in college because of his size. When my son graduated from high school we “shipped” him back to California to play junior college ball. After one year at Pasadena City College,where he did not play, he transferred to Mt.Sac to play for his uncle, the newly appointed secondary coach under Bill Fiske. After two years at Mt. Sac, my brother successfully transformed my son into a sufficiently competent cornerback. My son never played cornerback in high school. After two years at Mt SAC my son earned a full athletic scholarship to Vanderbilt University. My son had a fine career at Vanderbilt starting at cornerback against such powerhouses as Alabama, Auburn, Georgia and LSU, just to name four, during his two years at Vandy. I tell DeWayne all the time that I owe him more than $80,000.00. Thanks to DeWayne my son earned a quality degree and had the rare experience of playing football in the SEC. Please discount my support of DeWayne for the HC job at UCLA because of family bias. But I am also an Alum as are many members of my family and we want the best for UCLA. His resume, including his success with my son more than recommends him for the job. I only hope Guerrero and the UCLA administration have the character to do the right thing.Wallace L. Walker

10 Responses to “Wallace L. Walker Speaks”

  1. gutdoc said

    agree 100%…DW is the MAN!!!! He is the logical hire. Who is to say that any of the big names would do a better job with all the restrictions UCLA shackles the program with…Go Bruins…go w DW

  2. Gary G. said

    It is so silly that some UCLA “supporters” claim the experience is needed. Did Oklahoma use that in hiring Bob Stoops? How about Cal with Jeff Tedford?
    D. Walker is a diamond. If UCLA chokes this away…he will go somewhere else and kick our ass.

    Hire DeWayne Walker…

  3. wewantwalker said

    You NAILED it Gary.

    https://wewantwalker.wordpress.com/2007/12/14/but-he-has-no-head-coaching-experience/

    Thats my post pretty much expanding on what you just said. I am in complete agreement.

  4. blah said

    You mean Bob Stoops who was the DC for the Florida Gators National Championship winning team?

    Or Tedford who was hired by one of the worst programs in the NCAA? A team that went 1-10 the previous season, and 8-24 over the last 4?

    Ucla is not the worst program in the Pac-10, and Walker isn’t close to Stoops.

  5. Mr. Walker,

    Thanks for the post. I have my fingers crossed Ucla hires the man, your brother. When I was in 4th grade I read “The Value of Courage.” I instantly became a Ucla fan because of that childrens book or bio on Jackie Robinson. I bought it for my two boys recently.

    Anyway, I patiently await the news. You know, if Dan G hire Walker and he can’t win a game for 3 years he’ll be fired. I think if Dan G hires somebody else and they fail he has a good chance to keep his job. It will say a lot about Dan if he has the nuts to go with another coach with no head coaching experience.

    I think experience head coaching is way overrated. D Walker may be the best DC in the country today. He’s done a great job with little depth and no big time talent. Walker is a smart cat. He’s football smart. Nobody is perfect but I’d really be excited if he’s named our new head coach.

    I say our but I didn’t get accepted to Ucla. My uncle has 3 rings. He played for Wooden and was an academic all american. I should have studied a little harder.

    Let me know how much more money Walker needs to remain DC at Ucla if he is not named HC. I’ll try and cut the check personally. I’ve read that Miami is a serious player for Walker right now. Really serious. Washington now wants to talk to him. Keep your brother here. Jackie would want it that way.

    take care,

    Art

  6. bones said

    Thank you for your post Mr. Walker. This is about family. The families of players and fans and schools. When our team competes, we are all right there competing with them. We worry about them, cheer for them, stick with them during tough times and support any way we can when they need us. It’s a family and DeWayne is not only a member of the family, he has earned the job.

  7. Brad in LA said

    If I was Walker, if they hired that cheater Rick Neuheisel over me there is no way in hell I would stay there and be his Defensive Coordinator. Slick Rick has no integrity. If I was Walker I would bolt to Washington or Miami and turn around one of those defenses around and be the hottest name in college sports for Head coaching jobs. I mean I would not under any circumstances stay there and work under Rick Neuheisel. That guy is the lowest of the low. Walker should have more faith in himself to not work under Neuheisel. Go somewhere else and continue to make a name for yourself.

  8. […] Wallace L. Walker Speaks Editor’s Note: Wow. We are honored to have your take, Mr. Walker. We agree completely: We hope UCLA and Guerrero […] […]

  9. Canefan said

    please dont hire him, go with Slick Ricky…..He is on top of our DC list

  10. mike said

    this isnt happening….dewayne walker is a good defensive coordinator..not a head coach

Leave a Reply

 
