We Want Walker

DeWayne Walker for UCLA head coach.

Are We Ready for DeWayne Walker? Another counter-argument

Posted by wewantwalker on December 15, 2007

Bumped from the comments and with some notes interspersed (I seriously thought I just made up that word, but there is no squiggly line underneath it…hmmm).  Sometimes I wish I was a hardass/moron/hezbelloh and didn’t have to acknowledge such lucid and logical comments. It would make my life a lot easier.

 

But I’m not. Though I disagree with this post, I value it mostly because it is a perfect example of strongly disagreeing with something, yet still not being an incendiary jackass that embarasses UCLA while doing it (seriously, some stuff I read is really, really embarrassing and transcends the individual who writes it and reflects on UCLA…it’s pathetic.) Wow, whoda thunk?  

 

 I take your opinion and this website very seriously because it has the ability to influence people’s decisions. This coaching decision is a serious, multi-million dollar decision. So let me be as forthcoming as I can Editor’s note: be, Mr. Anderson? I recognize that line from the Matrix. Why bring it up? I’m 98 percent sure that its a coincidence, but I just felt like proving to the world that I am, indeed, a dork , haha.and try to reason with you. I’m assuming that you, like me, want to win national championships and PAC-10 championships. You will also likely concede that UCLA is the best university in the nation, and should have a fitting football program. 

 

Editor’s Note: Check. Check. Check. Check. and Check. On the same page so far.

 

You present Dewayne Walker’s numbers and his ability to recruit with the belief that these would translate into him having success as a head coach here at UCLA. I don’t have a problem with the numbers he put up here, which were admirable, although they weren’t great and definitely were not spectacular. But the real truth of the matter is that the numbers he put up here are irrelevant. Even if Walker had absolutely eye-popping, video-game-like numbers, it would be irrelevant. Editors note: Disagree. First of all, I think when you take everything into consideration, as I’ve tried to do on this site (talent/size issues/total defense rank improvement of 78, third down conversion rate, recruiting ability, pass efficiency defense, time of possession issues etc,) it is eye-popping. When it comes to the relevance of this to a head coach’s ability…read my next note.

 

Experience has shown us, as college football fans, that there is no correlation between numbers coordinators put up and their success as head coaches. Editor’s note: I would say there is a pretty decent correlation actually. Though, as you point out, there’s definitely no guarantee. Norv Turner is a great example of this and Chow, who many have mentioned has lacking enthusiasm, may also suffer the same fate. I have to look into this, but see the post on head coaching experience for some coordinators-turned-head coach that did well right off the bat.

 

There are endless examples of this. Karl Dorrell is an example of this. Yes, there is a possibility that a defensive coordinator without any (not even high school) head coaching experience would have success here. But there’s also a possibility that he wouldn’t have any success here, or that he might even put the program in a deep hole. Editor’s note: But this is the thing. When I look at Karl Dorrell I don’t see the same qualities as I see in DeWayne Walker: According to players, he’s a hardass and a tremendous leader, he’s a coordinator whose turned a defense around (do you think Dorrell actually called his own plays under Neuheisel?) and he can recruit like nobody’s business. Also, he didn’t need much time or experience to do ANY of this. Which leads us to the real issue at hand: Hiring Dewayne Walker is a gamble.Editor’s note: No argument here. It is a gamble, though we truly believe the risks are outweighed by the prospective rewards. And I’m tired of the Morgan Center and our uninformed fans gambling with our football program. No offense, but my family and I love football, Editor’s note: My family hates football. Me? I once got a comment on an test that said “Please stop analogizing to football.” have spent a lot of money on this program over the years, and we are tired of losing. It gets old seeing your mediocre team lose badly, and it’s equally embarrassing to watch them win games in the sorry fashion they have over the last few years.

 

The whole “Dorrell situation” was bad for everyone. It was bad for Dorrell, who I am empathetic for, Editor’s note: Really? don’t tell Nestor that. He might ban you bad for the kids in our football program, and bad for the fans because we were let down. Situations like this arise when people make uninformed, reckless, multi-million-dollar decisions. With Karl Dorrell, the Morgan center tried to pull a rabbit out of the hat. Who were they kidding when they said that our program under Dorrell had the potential to win championships? Editor’s note: They didn’t fool me, for the record. I distinctly remember my face collapsing on over my hands when I heard the news Where was the proof of that? Dorrell should have had to show, just like Walker should now, that he could win as a head coach at a lower tier university before he stepped onto the greatest field of the greatest university in the nation.

 

Now maybe you have a “gut instinct” Walker would make it here, or you think his numbers and recruiting abilities are just too good to ignore. But that’s no good reason to hire him when there are many head coaches out there with proven success and BETTER numbers. There IS a correlation between head coaching success at one university leading to head coaching success at another, obviously. Editor’s note: I would say there is a correlation of success going from coordinator to head coach, but would also say that success going from the head coaching position at one school to another would have a stronger correlation. That was a poor sentence grammatically, but I’m tired. Otherwise no one would be going after Nutt, Nick Saban, or Les Miles. People go after them because they are PROVEN LEADERS. And I think, as someone who wants to win championships, that UCLA deserves no less.

 

There are countless candidates for our empty head coaching job who have years of proven head coaching success. There’s no reason why we should gamble on yet another defensive coordinator, a defensive coordinator of only two-years, at that. I want to stress again that Walker might have success here and that what he has done with our defense is admirable. But at this point a coach who “might” have success is not sufficient. And, let’s be serious here. Do you really think Dewayne Walker, defensive coordinator of 2 years, has more potential to turn this program around and win championships better than the other candidates out there? Editor’s note: Not to sound like an ass, but we do or we wouldn’t have started this blog. Could he do it better than Todd Graham, Chris Peterson, Mariucci, Grobe, Leach, or even June? I think if you are honest, you will realize that there are better head coaching candidates out there. And we shouldn’t settle for less. Editor’s note: I am being honest. I’m not running for Congress, I’m writing a blog. This is UCLA, god-damnit. Champions are made here. Let’s make them on the gridiron, Sanders style. -uclablue

One Response to “Are We Ready for DeWayne Walker? Another counter-argument”

  1. bruinfan08 said

    Editor’s note: Didn’t mean to offend people with different political views. But I specifically used Hezbollah for 3 reasons:

    1) This is not a political blog, so I’ll make this as least controversial as possible: “Hezbelloh” isn’t synonymous with “moderate.” BN and DD are the same way.
    2) Anthony Bourdain, my favorite author uses a similiar analogy in his book, NYT Bestseller “Kitchen Confidential.” While he’s a controverisal character, I don’t remember anyone giving him crap for it.
    3) I’m arab and since I didn’t find it offensive, I figured it wouldn’t offend other arabs too.

    “hezbelloh” ? That has no place in this discussion, and it offends people with different political views than yourself. Please, lets leave mid-east politics out of this.

Leave a Reply

 
